Votes: 0 0.0%
  • What a Deal

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Users who are viewing this thread

clock

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am not very experienced, so please forgive me if this sounds naive. It will not bother me if you tell me I'm completely off on my calculations or being taken for a ride on the estimates. Regardless, I certainly can't afford to do all these. This is for the northeast.

I used an application to estimate the heating and cooling loads at 4 properties I rent out (the app uses Google maps and other information coupled with user input for its estimates). I am interested in ductless heat pumps (I'll describe why for each below). Here is what I calculated (seems high?) and the quote I was given from a vendor (estimated savings for each: non-commital).

==Home 1:==
~400 square feet, 1 floor, 1 bedroom, 1 bath, 2 other rooms and hallway
Cape cod roof
Newer oil boiler (hot water radiators)
Goal: A/C, possibly remove bulky oil tank

This App's Estimates:
  • 38,988 S Cooling Load (40,693)
  • 4,908 L Cooling Load
  • 94,026 Heat Load (87,518)
Vendor quote:
2 Mitsubishi Hyper Heat Multi-Zone Heat Pump Condenser, MXZ-4C36NAHZ
4 Mitsubishi M Series Indoor MSZ-FH06NA
$12,600

==Home 2:==
~2,000 square feet, 2 floors, 5 bedroom, 2 bath, 4 other rooms
Cape cod roof/knee walls on 2nd story
oil boiler (hot water radiators) on last legs (goal: replace system)
insulation added last year, double-pane windows, no insulation between basement and 1st floor

The App's Estimates:
Total:
  • 47,894 S. Cooling Load
  • 12,668 L. Cooling Load
  • 123,062 Heating Load
1st Floor:
  • 31,922 S. Cooling Load
  • 71,861 Heat Load
2nd Floor:
  • 14,483 S. Cooling Load
  • 52,201 Heat Load

Vendor's quote:
2 Mitsubishi Hyper Heat Multi-Zone Outdoor Unit, MXZ-5C42NAHZ
2 Mitsubishi M Series Indoor MSZ-FH12NA
2 Mitsubishi M Series Indoor MSZ-FH06NA
4 Mitsubishi M Series Indoor MSZ-FH09NA
(Happy to provide more details on other supplies - drains, brackets, etc)
$26,750