2" well casing to pump adapter for a pressure / suction pair; PVC? Low-Cost Options? Search terms to find choices?

Users who are viewing this thread

RTroy

Reaction score
So you get the context, briefly:

I've traveled about 2400 miles across the continent (driving) to visit my sister only to find her well pump went out some 6 or more weeks ago. I gotta hand it to her, she's no complainer or whiner - she didn't mention it! And while she doesn't have the money to do anything about it, she's been filling up gallon water jugs to get by while she saves money to buy a new pump; TROOPER!

So, OF COURSE I'm helping! ... I'm an engineer in another field, so I know a thing or two about engineering, but I switched to Earth Science, and so now I'm not doing so well financially myself, taking time off work to come visit, the expense of that, etc... So, I need the low-buck solution here, please, but I do care that it doesn't fail sooner than the funds to make it better can happen. ... If I HAVE to spend some serious bucks, I'd at least like to buy the right stuff!

The existing pump failed because a rodent reportedly got inside the electric motor and shorted it out, but then her well meaning but not very cluefull friend took it and tried to fix it, decided it wasn't fixable and THREW IT OUT! Adapters and all! (Talk about stupid! People, doesn't matter if it's a car, water heater or airplane; don't get rid of the old, failed part until you have the new solution in-hand! Word to the wise!)

The well is one of those intermediate depth ones that probably should have been done as a 4" or something, but it's got a 2" casing and the well driller said the water level in the area varies between 35' down and 75' down. So, there aren't that many pump choices without spending more than I've got - or, at least I didn't find much in my searches.