Toilet base water coming out and caulk came out. who to call?

Users who are viewing this thread

Questions1

Reaction score
This is the powder room toilet.

The thick caulk has come out and bits of water coming out and little bit of odor as well. I am not good at these. call plumber or handyman? How much should this cost? Is this a new caulk needed that will fix or this is a lot more work ?
thanks

Attachments

• IMG_2348.jpg
    IMG_2348.jpg
    67.4 KB · Views: 58
  • IMG_2347.jpg
    IMG_2347.jpg
    75.9 KB · Views: 59

Breplum

Licensed plumbing contractor
Reaction score
Plumber would pull the toilet and reset w/new wax
If you want to cover the bases, a bench test can be set up to check for porcelain leaks before resetting, but, you will pay a lot more for a bench test.

Questions1

Reaction score
The plumber came and found the following problem and fixed for $850 and gave $850 check. Told me he gave me extra $100 discount cos usual price is $950. File upload isn’t working so it is flange replacement cast iron hangs installed , toilet reset , new bolts and way ring . Toilet caulk all for $850. On the main bathroom toilet . Down there on the left small part is missing . The white cap is not screwing and not staying on tight . What do I need? I told him to take care of it but told me has no time .

Last edited:

JohnCT

Still learning..slowly
Reaction score
Without pics it's not possible to say if the flange is bad (it needs to securely contain the bolts that hold down the toilet)

If you had a handyman, he would charge less than a plumber would (this doesn't really require a plumber's skill set).

I had the same problem and bought a repair kit at the local Depot. Here's a video similar to what I installed. This is something you can do yourself if you're at least a bit handy. If not, a handyman certainly can.

Good luck.

John

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score