Weil-McLain possessed after midnight

Users who are viewing this thread

PatrickC

Reaction score
Hello All, I am new to boilers, first house with one, I have:
  1. Weil-McLain boiler
  2. L8124A aquistat (set to 160-180 20 diff)
  3. Taco 007-F5 circulator
  4. CT87A Honeywell thermostat
  5. Vent-Rite VR30 expansion tank
  6. Cast Iron radiators

All pictured in this link https://www.dropbox.com/sh/r8fvtowz6s6fhlk/EfNJytBgBi

The problem I am having is this, I crank my thermostat to 70, the system will call for heat and it will get within 5 degrees of 70, during this process it comes on and off frequently until it reaches the 68, I assume the on off is normal until it reaches the desired temperature?. Personally I thought it would run continuously until it reaches my temp.

Now it seems that every time after 12 or 1, I am guessing the coincidence is when the temperature drops in the 20's outside, the broiler runs continuously, but provides little to no heat, this morning when it happened around 3 am I checked the radiators and they were cold to the touch.

Where would I start looking to fix the problem, could it be a faulty thermostat? any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:

Jac04

Reaction score
Can you tell us what the boiler temperature is doing during the cycles, and also during the times when the t-stat is calling for heat but the radiators are cool?

The on/off cycles are most likely the boiler hitting the high temp cutoff (which shuts the burner off), then dropping back down to the low limit (which fires the burner). The output of the radiators is not enough to satisfy the t-stat before the boiler hits the cutoff temperature.

Last edited:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score