Water running, float is all the way up, flapper sealing perfect!

Users who are viewing this thread

myz8a4re

Reaction score
Hey folks, Im a newb here. I have repaired or replaced my toilets myself over the years. Toilets, flaps, fill valves, floats, seals, chains, handles etc... Im pretty sure the fill valve has just failed and I should get another but Im wondering what makes them fail? Yes my float is adjusted properly and yes I did a die test to check the flapper sealing, I can even pull up on the float and the water wont stop totally. So again, Im sure the valve just failed..BUT... Is there something I can check/repair? I know these valves are relatively cheap but I just replaced this one in March and instead of just grabbing another at the store I thought Id ask whats involved and what makes them go bad to where they wont stop the water from running into them. Im guessing I can either keep purchasing the cheap toilet parts or upgrade to something a bit more costly/reliable. I really appreciate any input!

EDIT: just to note, I do not have any worthwhile or higher end parts in my toilets, just the usual Wal-Mart replacement pieces off the shelf. Just incase someone was curious if I had any rebuildable pieces.

Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
What makes you think your fill valve failed? Is the water running over the overflow all of the time, or what?

myz8a4re

Reaction score
What makes you think your fill valve failed? Is the water running over the overflow all of the time, or what?
Hi, Yes the water keeps running, even if I pull up on the float. The water runs into the overflow and does not stop. I couldnt see it being anything else since the flapper is sealing perfectly.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score