Visible pipes through dropceiling

Users who are viewing this thread

s vik

Reaction score
Hi,

I just signed up here hoping to get some help and advice. I have no knowledge in plumbing so any help Would be hightly appreciated.

I recently bought a house where in my living room, located in the basement i have a drop ceiling. The problem is that i have 3 visible pipes below my ceiling. I believe they are for my shower and vanity from my bathroom. 2 of them are located close to the wall, on of those are a u-shape while the other is from ceiling to wall about 40 cm long. The u-shape is sticking down showing the part of the U.

The third visible pipe is also a U-shape and this one has a screwcork on it. (sorry for my lack of technical terms).

Is it possible to raise these above ceiling so they wont be visible? If so, is it a complicated job?
Thanks
SDC11975.JPG
SDC11978.JPG
SDC11980.JPG

s vik

Reaction score
Thanks for your reply, appreciate it.
I don't know the difference between the 2, but since you say the an s-trap is no good there us nothing I can do?

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
For the lav vanity, you can install the p-trap above floor and use an AAV as the vent. You don't normally see p-traps below floor for anything but showers and tubs.
The trap arm can only grade down at a 2% slope, and only for a certain distance.
42" on 1.5"
60" on 2"
Better to have working traps than to have a flat ceiling.

Themp

Reaction score