Tub Drain plunger separated from linkage, stuck in drain pipe

Users who are viewing this thread

thehausmaus

Reaction score
Hello --

I am new to plumbing so please excuse any incorrect terminology.

We have a tub that recently started draining slowly and now drains very slowly. I initially plunged which didn't help. I then went to use a snake and opened up the overflow. When I took out the tub stopper, I found that there was no plunger attached to the linkage and it had appeared to unscrew itself from the linkage threads (undamaged, so it didn't break off). Using a wire, we determined that the stopper appears to be just below the drain shoe. We tried using the wire and also a magnet to get the item but they did not work (item may be brass).

There is an access panel in the closet behind the tub. One idea is to loosen the slip nut to the pipe between the overflow and the t connector and hope to be able to reach the stopper. Any other thoughts or ideas? Thank you!

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
It IS brass. I would make a "V" on the end of a wire, then slide it down the drain line until it went THROUGH the "bucket" then pull it back up to try to catch the crossbar. Once that is done, hopefully the bucket is not corroded in place, you can pull it out. If it is corroded, sometimes flooding the overflow with PB Blaster or WD-40 will loosen it enough so you can extract it. If it were I doing it, there are other things I could try until it did come out, or the crossbar broke, but nothing I could describe to you.

thehausmaus

Reaction score