Please review my DWV layout

Users who are viewing this thread

bjohns

Reaction score
First I want to say thanks for all the helpful information I have found on this site in the past few weeks. I am a Carpenter by trade, and we are building a new house, and I plan on doing the plumbing. I have moved a little plumbing before in a bathroom remodel, but this will be my first under a slab, so I would like some opinions on my layout. This is for the Bathroom, house located in Central Arkansas. I just have the pipe stuck together in order to take a picture and have extra length on each piece for final fitment. Vents will tie together in the attic and exit as a 3". Also, is there a minimum height that the risers need to be on the commode and shower drain? I plan on using a 4"x3" closet bend for the commode, I just havent gotten it yet.

plumbing front.jpgplumbing back.jpg

Tom Sawyer

In the Trades
Reaction score
Yea, that's fine. If that's 3" that the lav dumps into it can be 2" or if you're IPC, 1-1/2" and it still wet vents the toilet. The shower vent can be 1-1/2" also.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
quote; If that's 3" that the lav dumps into it can be 2" or if you're IPC, 1-1/2"

I am not sure about the IPC "anything goes" code, but under the UPC he would need vents through the roof that equal the AREA of the incoming sewer so it that and the tub vents are the only ones he WOULD need a 3" vent because there is no combination of two smaller vents that would equal the area of a 3" main line.

Tom Sawyer

In the Trades
Reaction score
IPC requires one vent through the roof that is 1/2 the diameter of the building main so 3" main = 1-1/2" vent although it needs to be increased to 3" at the roof penetration.

bjohns

Reaction score
I plan on leaving the 3" vent there and would tie the 2" or 1.5" (if sufficent) from the bath to it in the attic. I don't think I can get "too much" vent.

bjohns

Reaction score