New home Owner Kitchen Sink Help

Discussion in 'Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & ' started by marinemail05, Oct 11, 2012.

1. marinemail05

marinemail05 New Member

hello, I just bought a new place and the kitchen sink drain needs to be replaced. I noticed that who ever did it last did not put a trap in and the current renter complains about sewage smell and the right side is leaking so they have a bucket there. I'm assuming i just replace everything i see here with new PVC and then add a single trap after the two sinks come together.... I have no plumping experience so any help is appreciated. Thanks! Sink.jpg
  2. Terry

Terry Administrator Staff Member

You can get shallow baskets for starters. Those are the deep (or longer) ones.
    A single p-trap will suffice. You may want to look at opening the wall and getting the drain there lower. If it's going down vertical that's a possibility. If it's armed over on the horizontal, then it may be too much.
  3. marinemail05

marinemail05 New Member

So for just a basic fix, I could replace everything that is here since it leaks right now, but just add a p-trap where the flixible piping is in the picture? I did notice that the wall drain is pretty high since the baskets sit so low. So I would need 2 90 degree elbows and 1 T pipe that would then connect to a p-trap right? Thanks for the reply!

Ken
  4. Terry

And find some baskets that are shorter.
  5. cacher_chick

cacher_chick Test, Don't Guess!

I am willing to bet that the original sink that was there was not that deep, so the height of the trap arm was ok. Shorter baskets might get you enough pitch when the P-trap is installed.

If you cannot get the outlet of the new trap at least 1/2" higher than the fitting in the wall, it's not going to drain well, and the fitting in the wall will need to be lowered.
  6. marinemail05

marinemail05 New Member