Incessant Drain Leaking! Please Help!

Users who are viewing this thread

jt643

Reaction score
I am a novice - at best...but I am trying to DIY. My daughters' vanity drains were not draining. Tried Drano to no avail. So...

I removed the pop-up drain necks and cleaned them out myself. Only problem is that I cracked two of them. So...

On to Home Depot. I grabbed their plastic pop-up kit. Installed it, and everything looked great! Next morning? Puddle of water below the p-trap. This has happened to me with three different assembly kits. I am starting to think it is installer error!

Here is the process I've used for install:

1. Plumber's Putty - rolled into a snake and made sure it covered all the plastic around the outside of the drain inset. Set the inset in the vanity hole.
2. Drain Neck - tightened the neck into the inset (tightened until the drain lever opening pointed to the back of the cabinet...not very tight, but not very loose)
3. Drain Lever - inserted ball into lever opening and secured the nut that seals the lever into the neck
4. Drain Neck Nut - tightened the nut by hand until tight...then tightened with both hands until it would not budge
5. Completed Install - connected and tightened p-trap

The drain beads water at the rubber washer above the Drain Neck Nut and also at the nut that seals the lever into the neck.

This is happening at both of the lavs I've used the Home Depot assemblies. The other 2 lavs that I just used the old parts are working great! Uggh! Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks.

ffmurray

Reaction score