DIY no grout solid surface shower suggestions?

Users who are viewing this thread

Rerod

Reaction score
Just to give you a idea how I roll, I just bought a pair of speed queen's after my Maytag commercials failed after 18 years. So I'm the type who's not afraid to spend money for something that should last decades. I'm not wealthy, but I think it pays in the long run.

I bought my fixer-upper house with two of the three bathrooms needing immediate attention. Leaks, fiberglass shower pans stained.. I fell through the tiled wall of one of them when I leaned on it to wash my foot. lol I bought three kerdi shower kits and planned on installing tile showers / bases. But after reading the "tile your world" book, I now realize there are so many ways to install shower tile the wrong way and I'm reluctant to try because I have no experience. I found a great local tile setter, but he didn't want to use epoxy grout and stopped communicating with me.

So I'm considering a solid surface shower (yes it looks like a hotel and for good reason) as I like the fact stains can be sanded out and there are no grout lines to crack or stain. It sounds easier to install and more bullet proof than tile.

Does anyone have first hand experience or feed back concerning solid surface shower's like Swanstone, Tere-stone, corian, Kohler Choreograph, onyx solid surface and cultured marble or any others?

I want a shower that will out last me, and plan on renting my home out after I retire.

Thanks!

Last edited:

CountryBumkin

Reaction score
It's not hard to install a shower the correct way - if you follow the manufacturers directions.

I'm not a Plumber or Tile Pro, but I've done two Kerdi showers now and found it to be pretty easy. Of course you do need some hand skills (cutting tile, installing drain and fixtures, etc.) but its not that hard with the new/modern products.