Disgusting kitchen sink drastically needs help

Users who are viewing this thread

cloudsinpastels

Reaction score
unnamed.jpg

First, a quick background:

That hideous creature above is the unfortunate consequence of me neglecting it severely for far too long. At some point of time in 2013 a shot glass accidentally slipped into the disposal, and I didn't know. I scooped the shards out with my hands fairly easily. At least it wasn't crystal; those shards would have sliced and diced me. The whole event ended with the disposal seemingly broken, of course.

I mean, it 's jammed before, but always a Google search or two was enough to get it going, via breaker switch and the reset button on the bottom. It looked like I was going to have to disassemble it in order to be able to get it running again. but I've never done anything like that before and I didn't want my landlord coming in and charging for the inflated price of a new since I tampered with it myself. Prior to that photo, the sink was nearly filled to the brim with opaque and jet black standing water, that was marbled with veins and beads of oil. It also smells TERRIBLE.

I think enough soap and hot water and elbow grease would be enough to get the sink itself clean, but if you'll notice in that picture, there's a thick black mass peeking out from just under the plunger. That runs down the drain into its dirty, infected depths. At that point I didn't want to touch the plunger, because I had already removed my gloves. You should have seen it, :D I had a respirator and goggles strapped around my head and everything.

Okay, so that's where my story stands. What I want to do right now is try to kill as possible much crap that I can't see. Every effective drain cleaner I've ever used wasn't supposed to be using on sinks with disposals.