copper to old lead water line

Users who are viewing this thread

Herky

Reaction score
I am a newbie.

I called the Water Co. to change the meter. The lead line on the street side of the meter is leaking quite badly. they won't change it till I fix the leak.
How can I couple copper tubing to the old lead line without digging up the feed from the street?

Thank you,
Herky

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
What you're asking doesn't make sense. You say the old galvanized line is leaking then you ask how to connect copper pipe to it??? It may be possible to have a new line installed without digging up the entire yard, but that has to be done by a professional qualified and equipped to do this. I think this is the approach you should at least explore. Forget the old galvanized line, it's toast.

Herky

Reaction score
copper to lead

Gary
The incoming line from the street is lead (Pb). It comes under a stone foundation into a pit that contains the water meter. There is a shutoff valve. The leak is between the valve and the meter. I would like to cut off the lead pipe and connect copper to it. The copper line would now connect to the meter. How can I make this connection?

Herky

Herky

Reaction score
copper to lead

Gary
The incoming line from the street is lead (Pb). It comes under a stone foundation into a pit that contains the water meter. There is a shutoff valve. The leak is between the valve and the meter. I would like to cut off the lead pipe and connect copper to it. The copper line would now connect to the meter. How can I make this connection?

Herky

Winslow

Plumber
Reaction score
Herky said:
Gary

Herky

1. If this is a potable water line then there is no way it can be lead (Pb)

2. If you are connecting to the meter itself then you can usually use a
female adapter.

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
If you do have a lead line I would recomend replacing the line. How old is your house?

Did the water company tell you it was lead?