Constantly clogging kitchen/laundry sinks

Users who are viewing this thread

aphit

Reaction score
Hey, new here. I'm pretty much clueless about plumbing but I need help. I've been renting a basement unit for 3 years and have needed my kitchen and laundry sink line professionally snaked 3 times in the past year and a half due to it clogging solid. I've been using hair traps, mesh screens, and panyhose to catch lint, but it's clogged solid once again today. My landlords insist that it's something I'm doing, so this is creating a lot of tension with the rental situation. I want to know if there's something I can do myself to take care of it and prevent it from happening again. Thanks.

Little bit more info: I've tried boiling water and plunging. It's a 1960's house. I think the plumbing is a bit of a mess. No floor drain. Pretty sure it was snaked through a vent on the roof.

Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
Consider that the upstairs unit(s) are feeding those same drain lines from above I presume.

Is the clogging actually in a pipe under the floor?

aphit

Reaction score
Consider that the upstairs unit(s) are feeding those same drain lines from above I presume.

Is the clogging actually in a pipe under the floor?

I believe the kitchen sink upstairs is backing up into my laundry sink. Smelled really bad this morning.

And I guess so. I don't think it's anywhere near the sinks.

Last edited:

aphit

Reaction score
Noticed you're renting. Have you called the landloard/owner about the problem?

Yes of course. They arranged and paid for the other 3 and are (understandably) getting annoyed that this is a reoccurring problem... but are not really working with us to figure out why it keeps happening. They insist we're putting things down the drain we shouldn't be. I'll purchase some better lint screens and sink strainer baskets, but I don't really know what else I can do/suggest to my landlords. I think we're going to try renting a snake from Home Depot tomorrow.