Connecting well pump to generator

Users who are viewing this thread

Ceikey12

Reaction score
Hi. I’m brand new here. Have read a few very informative posts but need some advice. I’m looking for a way to hook up a generator to well pump when power is out. I’ve attached a photo of my well pump wiring in the basement. I have an electrical shut-off switch you can see on the wall. This is a main power switch for the circuit that goes to the pump. Could I turn that switch into an outlet and put a male plug on the end of the wires that go to the pump? Then I could plug it into the outlet normally but when power is out I could unplug from the outlet and connect to an extension cord to generator? Not sure if I am missing anything here because seems relatively easy. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 8-25-23, 12:54 PM Microsoft Lens.pdf
    735.3 KB · Views: 124

Reach4

Reaction score
I think that would be OK, but I am not a pro. What I do know is that your 2-wire submersible pump probably needs more generator power than you would think.

If you zoom in, you may be able to read Table 5, and the Note.

I do think that most generators are INTERNALLY REGULATED.

Ceikey12

Reaction score
Thanks that was a helpful read. My generator is 3600 watts so should be able to run the pump just fine if I don’t have anything else connected.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail 5th session completed 4/24/24.
Solutions
Reaction score
Thanks that was a helpful read. My generator is 3600 watts so should be able to run the pump just fine if I don’t have anything else connected.
You won't know until you connect it to a generator. You cannot go by watts alone. Many motor such as pumps need a lot more starting power and voltage regulation. 3600 watts is split between two phases if it has a 220v connection. 1800 watts each for 120v.