Confused about refill tube on Kohler one-piece

Users who are viewing this thread

NYC

Reaction score
For a while now, my toilet would not flush easily when pulling down the handle. It has gotten progressively worse and now will only flush if the handle is held down for a a few seconds.

Doing a bit of research online I found that the culprit is often a faulty flapper. I look in the back of the toilet and find that the flapper is now the likely culprit. Pieces flake off just by touching it. Surprisingly there is no leaking, though it would be inevitable. Great, easy replacement for a complete novice like myself. I've ordered the part from home depot and will be replacing it later today.

However in doing the research I came across something weird. The toilet has no refill tube. Nothing squirts in the the overflow pipe. I've used this toilet for years and never thought about it or noticed anything different. Reading up about it, the overflow tube gives the toilet water the swirl, and without water going into the tube there would be very little water in the bowl after a flush. I honestly never noticed it though this would explain why sometimes it takes several flushes. My question is how easy a fix is this and is it necessary/recommended? Is it common to not have refill tubes?

Reach4

Reaction score
If the bowl is not getting filled after a flush, then a refill tube would be useful. If you replace the fill valve, that would come with a refill tube. It is more work than replacing a flapper, but not hard if you have easy access. Sometimes when doing that, you will also want to replace the supply line. Plus, toilets installed years ago have a multi-turn valve (stop) that can be hard to close or can leak after you operate it. So replacing that with a 1/4 turn ball valve will give you better operation and less chance of developing a leak.