Can I combine brass/chrome and plastic p-trap segments?

Discussion in 'Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & ' started by PK, Jul 19, 2010.

1. PK

PK New Member

I'm installing a pedestal sink in a tight alcove in a bathroom. Only about 4 inches of the horizontal drain pipe from the p-trap to the wall can be seen from any angle at all. Can I use a 1 1/4" plastic p-trap assembly for all of the hidden parts, and then use a chrome-plated brass wall tube or extension for the horizontal part going to the wall?

If so, is there anything special I need to know about connecting the plastic to the brass? Thanks.
  2. johnjh2o1

johnjh2o1 Plumbing Contractor for 49 years

Why not just use a chrome P-trap? Using a plastic trap and a chrome extension is just going to add more joints that are not needed.

John
  3. PK

PK New Member

Since it's a very tight space, it's helpful to be able to install and remove the trap by hand rather than with tools. I'm not a professional plumber, so the only tools I have that fit the large nuts are huge wrenches. The sink pedestal and walls make using a huge wrench difficult, if not impossible.

Can the plastic / chrome arrangement be made to work?
  4. jimbo

jimbo Plumber

You can totally intermix tubular fittigs..plastic, plain brass, and chrome plated brass.
  5. hj

hj Moderator & Master Plumber Staff Member

The joint between the two materials MAY require a "huge wrench" to tighten it, although all that is really needed is a pair of Channelock pliers, even with all brass parts.
  6. PK

PK New Member

Thanks for the helpful replies. If I use a brass extension attached to the plastic p-trap, I think I can make the connection between the two with a plastic nut. I have room against the wall to use a big wrench to connect the horizontal brass extension to the drain pipe.