Basement Design Software

Users who are viewing this thread

bilgirami

Reaction score
Hey Guys, a newbie here. I have gone through some of the discussion threads and I have found them to be very useful. So I have decided to sign up and draw on the knowledge people here have. So here goes my first question...

Is there a free software out there that I could use to do a rough layout of my basement. I do not need anything very elaborate but something basic that I could use for a floor plan and put measurements on.

GabeS

Remodel Contractor
Reaction score
I agree with hj. You don't need any software for a basement remodel. You can lay it out on paper or actually put down rope or spray paint the actual floors to get a feel of layout.

Scuba_Dave

Extreme DIY Homeowner
Reaction score
Website
holidaves.com
Sometimes learning how the software works takes longer then actually laying it out on paper
I just take measurements & draw it out on paper fro simple stuff
For more in depth stuff I have 3 different software programs - but not free. One is better for floor plans, another better for kitchen design

SewerRatz

Illinois Licensed Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.a-archer.net
HJ, GabeS, stop being a pair of old fogies , we are in the digital age, get with it guys.

I do agree a pencil squares and other old school drafting tools work fine. I was so p***ed that a contractor would not let me bid a job unless I had a full working legit version of Auto Cad. I did eventually get a legit version from my friends at Auto Desk for a song and a dance and being a beta tester. But heck what about the poor guys out there that can not lay down them kind of big bucks.

BikerDave

Reaction score
Computer vs paper