bad, Noisy bearings?

Users who are viewing this thread

Yad Forthenslosh

Reaction score
Dear Those That Know,
I have a Sta-rite well pump (code 1k95d, Model MSE-6) that has gotten progressively noisy while operating. I must also trip the pressure switch by hand every few days which is usually brought on by multiple water use in the house. I can replace the pressure switch myself, if that is needed, but the pump is a different story. Can one person get a new pump and replace the old one alone? I have no fear of the plumbing part, or the electrical part, but I have never done this before and therefore must look for the potential problems that may crop up. Do I return the old pump for a "Core Charge"? Do I replace the bearings only and continue with the same (10 year old) motor? What is the going rate for a new pump and for a new pump installed by a plumber? Where do I look to purchase a new pump?
I live in Orlando, Florida, and I thank any who would offer good council on this. I'll spend the money on a professional if neccessary, but I think I can do the work on my own, if I can determine what, exactly needs to be done. Thanks again for any good advise.

Yad

Raucina

Reaction score
I have a spa pump that is 15 years old and another guy would have changed it three times. I changed the bearings twice, the seal three times and the start switch once. Incredibly it seems the start capacitor is original.

Horizontal booster pump: Myers - burned windings. New motor from Myers was 345$ [proprietary design - not available off the shelf ] which is more than the entire unit cost. This is really a toss out society.

I beat Myers by buying a replacement 1HP motor from graingers for 95$ which by good sleuthing seemed the same motor shell and make. I pulled the stator from the old motor which had the peculiar shaft end and stuck it into the new motor. Perfect match. Beat the sad system.