Anyone with 1st-hand Kohler Class Five Flushing Experience?

Users who are viewing this thread

MikeLane

Reaction score
My wife and I are remodeling three bathrooms and a kitchen at the same time and was interested in using the Kohler Memoirs Suite in the guest bathroom. I would like to know if anyone has any first-hand (or butt) experience with the new one-piece Memoirs Comfort Height toilet with Stately design. I have limited experience with one and two-piece toilets because my previous apartment had those high-pressure flush valves (have no idea what they're called) that I will miss. Conventional wisdom tells me to forget about one-piece and after reading most of the posts in this forum I didn't see too much love (pardon the pun) out there for Kohler of American Standard toilets but thought I would check anyway since this is new technology and it's going in the guest bathroom.

All thoughts and comments appreciated, I guess flames as well.

Thanks,
Mike

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The first one with the Kohler class 5 flush was the Cimarron.

Consumer comments are there.

When I used the Cimarron, I noticed the lack of bowl wash at the back.
It works better than their 2" flush valve models, but not as well at the better brands that use a 3" flush valve.

MikeLane

Reaction score
Thanks Terry for your quick reply. Any idea if all Kohler Class Five flushing toilets have the same bowl design and lack of bowl wash at the back or is this limited to the Cimarron model?

What one and two-piece "better brands" with a 3" flush valve should I consider if we were thinking of NOT matching the toilet to the sink. BTW, I'm more interested in no plugging and better bowl wash than noise and style. Since this is a guest bathroom I thought it would be ok to sacrafice looks (makes my wife a happy camper) for funtionality. Does that make any sense?

Regards,
Mike

Achutch

Reaction score