Advice replacing old water heater

Users who are viewing this thread

nolarad

Reaction score
One of my two 50 gallon natural gas water heaters is 15 years old and I am considering prophylactic replacement. The other is a 3 year old Rheem that was put in right before we bought the house. Both are in the attic. There is a recirculation pump on a timer. We have not had any problems with running out of hot water with the current set up even with 2 kids, bathtub, etc. I am thinking about replacing both heaters with a Rinnai RUC98i primarily to get rid of the 100 gallons of water sitting above the rest of my house having heard some horror stories of catastrophic leaks. We live in New Orleans, have city water and already use a water softener. Would appreciate any thoughts/advice on the decision.

FullySprinklered

In the Trades
Reaction score
I think you're a prime candidate for a tankless. I'm not a big promoter of the tankless movement, but you have the southern latitude and an aging unit up in the attic to be concerned about; I say go for it. Attics water heaters worry me.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
You have two things going for you...likely relatively warm incoming winter water temps (lowers the temperature rise required), and soft water, so that the heat exchanger may not need to be cleaned as often (demineralized). But, the things are not cheap, can still leak if there's a problem (nothing's perfect or forever), and, the attic in New Orleans may be hot enough so that the stock WH may get enough heat to not need to run a whole lot in the middle of summer!