Search results

1. Amateurplumber1

I bought a drop-in stainless steel sink. Is there anything I should know before installing it?

I bought this sink to replace the current old sink we have now. I've done a lot of plumbing and faucet installation and all that so I'm good on that front. I've not ever installed a sink though. From my measurements it seems to have the same exact dimensions as the drop in one we have now that I...
  2. Amateurplumber1

I think whoever installed the drain in my shower used parts for a kitchen sink. How do I fix it?

I noticed there was a small leak in the ceiling so I removed the access panel for my tub/shower that said genius (thankfully) installed and everything looks wrong. I narrowed down (pretty sure) the leak to water getting behind the flange in my tub drain. I have a lot of experience with plumbing...
  3. Amateurplumber1

What could I possible have done to my furnace that messed it up?!

I'll definitely try that. Just doesnt make sense to me that it'd occur only because of a disconnect and reconnect of wires. This is insanely frustrating. Was really hoping to avoid paying a minimum of $100. :(
  4. Amateurplumber1

Originally when I put the common wire on and then reverted it back to the way it was, when it shut down, the Nest was saying that there's no power to the RH wire, so that is interesting you mention it. Now that i have the common hooked up, i dont know what it says, but I will check. Here is what...
  5. Amateurplumber1

Alright, so, about a week ago, I got a Nest thermostat and installed it with the 4 wire setup we have. It worked just great for 3-4 days. Everything was wonderful and I loved the new thermostat. I decided to get on the internet and read that the Nest works best with a common wire. So, I noticed...
  6. Amateurplumber1

I absolutely need to use a common wire to install my Nest...which is the common?