Info: How to Add or Replace a Septic Sewage System

Users who are viewing this thread

Suceress

Reaction score
Disclaimer: I am not an expert. I am not an installer or plumber or contractor. I am a homeowner who had a septic tank and leach field system replaced. I'm sharing this info to help people avoid some of my mistakes as well as to better understand the process involved in having this done.
This is just for information for anyone who wants to get a septic system installed or replaced.

How To Add or Replace a Septic Sewage System
tumblr_n3ed0fYJlo1qhfuqwo1_400.jpg

So you want to build a home in a rural area that will not be able to attach to city sewage OR the septic sewage system in your current home needs to be replaced.

Things you will need:

1. Official paperwork to prove you own the property-- sometimes including an outline of the property size/lines.
2. Sketch of the property with the areas you are considering placing the septic tank and leach field lines.
3. A shovel or post-hole digger (I found the latter to be easier to use)
5. At least five 5 gallon buckets or one 5 gallon bucket and a water hose or supply within reach.
6. Transportation to go to the health inspector's office (if you are unable to correspond with your health inspector via e-mail and he/she requests a face-to-face meeting).
7. The temporary permit which allows you to hire an installer. (Potential installers may ask you for the permit # to make sure that you have permission to have the installation)
8. A list of licensed installers and their contact information.
9. A sketch or detailed drawing of the installer's plans that will need to be approved by the health inspector
10. The full permit for the installation once everything has been approved.
11. At least $3,000 to $4,000 (if not more) to spend on the project.
12. Enough space for large trucks to move around (there may be 3 or 4 or even more trucks needed for the job)