Black specks in bathtub please help!

Users who are viewing this thread

starlingsnest

Reaction score
Hi Im new to this page and found these old threads. Hoping someone can give me some insights. Wondering if anyone ever figured out what was causing the black smeary specks most noticeable in the tub? I putchaed my condo in a 18 yr old building in Toronto last summer. I take daily baths and this issue is very noticeable. As others have indicated my property manager and condo board have been less than helpful. Im filtering my bathwater with a pillow case! Can see the tiny pin prick black on the shower walls as well. But is obviously caught in the shower head. I removed my vanity aerator and it's now noticeable in my vanity sink as well. I'm so frustrated because I've probably spent way more time researching possible causes than the board has. I just keep thinking I spent a lot of money to purchase this condo and I'd like to have clean water! How can this problem be so rare that most plumbers I've talked to don't seem familiar with this issue? Screenshot_20230604_094158_Gallery.jpgThe issue was better the few couple of weeks after tank cleaning but is starting to get worse again. If the building is 9 years old and the tank was only cleaned recently, could issue be due to lack of proper maintenance? I recall reading somewhere that if a tank has not been cleaned for along time, the built of sediments makes it hard to completely clean the tank. Is that true?

Marlinman

In the Trades
Reaction score
I had the same problem in my tub. After making the desision to chande th tub/shower valve I found stainless flex lines supplying the valve. The supply line had a rubber inner core shielded by the stainless steel. The rubber was disintegrate cusing the black smearing marks on my tub. Be sure to check upstream from the first affected fixture.

starlingsnest

Reaction score