Are tankless toilets reliable?

Users who are viewing this thread

Rockman1

Reaction score
I am remodeling my bathroom. I was looking at a tankless toilet. I have no experience with these types of toilets. Are they reliable for a older residential home? Do you need more water pressure to flush them? would you get a tank over a tankless toilet?

Reach4

Reaction score
For a flushometer toilet, you need a lot of gpm very quickly for a short time. So 1 1-1/4 inch or bigger pipe the whole way from the street, probably.

Last edited:

Breplum

Licensed plumbing contractor
Reaction score
Tankless is not a word used with toilets.
Flushometer type toilets are used commercially all the time. Rarely in residences in most of the country. I have seen them in NYC, though I don't know the reason for that. Sloan flushometer valves are the most prevalent, but now lots of mfrs have them. Toto included.
Residences in single fam. dwellings would typically need a new water main from the meter to meet demand, so why bother?
If you really want that kind of noise coupled with a outstanding flush without all the extra plumbing, get a "pressure assist" toilet.
That is the most oft chosen WC for commercial, trouble free situations.

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
You need 1" pipe at 35 psi full flow. So with the pipe running at fuul blast the gauge would need to read 35psi min. Most houses should be capable of that.

I installed one in a building that did not have the proper pressure on second floor. The toilet would not flush properly. The fix we used was to install a pressure tank (like for a well) this stored the volume at pressure in the piping so the valve could perform. I was happy that worked in leiu of a booster pump.

Tuttles Revenge

In the Trades
Reaction score
Three possibilities come to mind here