Search results

1. birdFEEDER

Replace closet elbow with PVC?

Done! :) Just thought I'd post the "AFTER" picture from my Before/After toilet series. ;) hehe Thanks again for everyone's help! :)
  2. birdFEEDER

Alright, I picked up the No Hub Fitting made of Neoprene with the metal casing around it. Score. Another question: do I put some kind of adhesive/silicon/caulk inside this NoHub before installing it, or will the tension from the metal-band be enough to keep it water-tight? And if so, what...
  3. birdFEEDER

I see. Thanks man, I've returned the Fernco and will seek out the appropriate No Hub Fitting. Cutting through the cast iron was a bit tense since I've never done it before. I've already returned the snap-cutter. It certainly lives up to its name. Nice and even cut though. :) As I see...
  4. birdFEEDER

Okay, so I just got back from the local Home Depot and rented a snap cutter ($14 for 24 hours - good deal) and picked up all the necessary fittings, but I have two more questions: (1) Is there a difference between a 4"-4" Fernco and a No-Hub-Fitting or are those the same thing? I didn't see...
  5. birdFEEDER

Jadnashua Wrote: "The flange should be installed on top of the finished floor and anchored through it into the subfloor" Oh! In my case, I'm installing 3/4" plywood subfloor, then 1/2" Hardibacker , then tiles. So, that is to say that the flange will sit ON TOP of the Tiles? Also, the...
  6. birdFEEDER

Hey jadnashua, Ah, I see, so I *do* have a 4" then. And yes, it was lath (lattice) and plaster (boy was THAT fun to take down), here is a pic of the measurement to the stud: (Click for larger picture) Looks like 11" from the stud, adding the 1/2" for drywall it would be 10 1/2" from...
  7. birdFEEDER