Recent content by Mike Garrod

1. Mike Garrod

Shut offs for wall mounted fixtures?

It’s a higher end home, some of the counters are floating and so any plumbing under the counter will be exposed. So it needs to look aesthetically pleasing.
  2. Mike Garrod

So then there has to be some kind of access panel?
  3. Mike Garrod

im installing a bunch of wall mounted lav faucets which I have never done before. Just wondering where and how the shut offs are usually plumbed. My thinking is that you just come out of wall, have an in-line ball valve, then go back into wall and tie into the rough in. Is this how it’s done...
  4. Mike Garrod

Expansion tank for hot water tank?

Thanks. I think I would prefer to err on the side of caution and install one like you said. It’s a small price to pay to for added protection!
  5. Mike Garrod

So you no longer install expansion tanks when there is a PRV? To me that requirement sounds pretty specific, meaning you have to have the Watts 25AUB-Z3. So you no longer install expansion tanks on hot water tanks if no PRV is installed?
  6. Mike Garrod

According to Canadian NPC, provision must be made for thermal expansion when check valves or pressure reducing valves are installed. Is the T&P relief valve sufficient to meet this requirement? Or must an expansion tank be installed. I always install an expansion tank when check valves are...
  7. Mike Garrod

Wet Vent Takeoff Argument

A wet vented Portion of pipe can’t reduce in size and toilets need to be furthest downstream wet vented fixture. Npc Canada code
  8. Mike Garrod

Backflow Preventer

Any time chemicals are involved backflow prevention is required. This is to protect the cities water supply. Say you had a sink full of dirty water with some chemicals in it and the hair sprayer was left submerged in this. If there were back flow conditions created there is potential for the...
  9. Mike Garrod

Plumbers: Which kitchen faucet brands are tops in quality/reliability?