Utica boiler short cycle help

Users who are viewing this thread

mehmet sarikcioglu

Reaction score
I have a home with utica dv150b for a single family home.
I am new to the home and I dont think it is running correctly.
It has an L 4080 b 1212 aquastat that kicks off the boiler at 180 water temp. Circulating pump still runs.
The problem is my house still calls for heat and It will short cycle all night long . On for 2 mins off for 5 on for 2 off for 5 on for 2 off again and so on....I dont think thats nor good nor normal.
So my question is this... What can i do here to let this boiler run longer. My old home setup was the boiler would not kick off until the thermostat was satisfied.

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
The Utica DV150B has an output of 122,000 BTU/hr. At an entering water temp of 180F, average water temp of 170F it takes about 225-250 feet of typical fin-tube baseboard on the zone to not cycle at all. Is this boiler is LUDICROUSLY oversized for the space heating loads of most houses. It's probably oversized for the radiation even when all zones are calling for heat, and many times oversized for the radiation on your smallest zones.

How many feet of baseboard (or quantify the other radiation) do you have on the system, zone by zone?