Unidentifiable Pitless / Problem removing pitless

Users who are viewing this thread

tkraemer

Reaction score
This is my first time attempting to pull a well pump. I'm not sure exactly how old the pump is, but my best guess would be the early 80s. I took a zoomed in photo and included it as an attachment.

The pipe extension in the center of the photo is about 5 ft below the top of the well. It is roughly 8" above the solid cap or plate of some kind. The slot you can see toward the bottom of the picture is where the blue electrical line passes through the cap/plate. I created the large 6 ft long pitless "key" (shaped like a T) and screwed it into the threads of the pipe extension on top of the pitless. I hoped maybe it would just pull out like many that I have seen online, but no such luck. I used a jack on my pitless key/tool as well, but couldn't move it. I am inclined to think that it may be mechanically stuck in place.

I can'd find any pitless that look similar to mine online. I saw Merrill's MCU & SSMCU Pitless Units look somewhat similar to mine, but mine does not appear to have the pin for releasing the back lever.

Can anyone advise me what kind of pitless adapter I have, or how I can remove it and pull the pump? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Pitless.jpg
    Pitless.jpg
    79.3 KB · Views: 3,360

VAWellDriller

Reaction score
Its a spool type pitless like a Baker Monitor standard.....most that I've seen on wells less than 8" do not have any sort of lock mechanism, they simply rely on gravity to seat the spool. It so badly corroded, I bet that is your problem pulling. We pulled one few months ago that was very corroded....the weight of the pump assembly was 5800#, and it took over 13000# on the crane to unseat it. Also, this type can be much harder to pull if you aren't pulling straight, which you probably weren't if you were using some sort of jack. Pull straight and pull harder, use a good pull pipe and screw it in very tight.