Temperature differential between thermostats on 3 zone system

Users who are viewing this thread

drbubba1995

Reaction score
I live in Southern AZ in a 2200sqft single floor house. It was built in late 2014 with one unit in the attic and 3 zones in the house each with their own thermostat. The area in one of the zones is rarely used and I'm wondering about what temp that thermostat needs to be set at relative to the other ones. I've been told that all thermostats should be set to within 1 or 2 degrees of each other but if that is the case I can't see the benefit of the 3 zones. I have no experience with HVAC systems and am hoping someone can give me the actual facts on temperature differences among thermostats. Thanks for any info.

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
The zones aren't made to be different temps the only reason an ac system is zoned like that is to be sure cooling is even thoughout the house. Basically telling the ac to kick in if any of these three areas get hot. Rather than having only one spot in the house monitoring the temp you'd have three.

Fitter30

Reaction score
Have no idea what zone system you have but a zone system is to have more even temperature or separate the bedrooms from the rest of the house for better temps at night or day.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail 5th session completed 4/24/24.
Solutions
Reaction score
If any zone is separated by a wall and closed doors, that area can be set higher to any temperature if the zone is seldom occupied. If there is a return grill, that warmer air will be returned to the air handler and if there are jump vents, required code in Florida, it will pull cooler air from the other zone. Most homes there is only one returned grill per unit, not zones but you may have more than one return grill.