tankless hot water problem

Users who are viewing this thread

Vedder Vitamins

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

Newbie here. I moved into a new house back in June with a tankless hot water heater (burnham minuteman II).

I am running into problems as of late, with cold showers. Hot water only lasts 2 minutes then it gets luke warm at best. And this is on the first shower of the morning!

I have adjust the temparature setting upward and also make sure there is enough pressure in the system as well.

What else can I do? I thought tanklesss hot water systems you were suppose to have an endless stream of hot water?

My bathroom is 2 floors up from system.

Thanks for your help.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Where do you live and what is the temperature of the cold water coming in?

A tankless system can only raise the temperature a certain amount, and in the winter, the incoming water can get close to freezing. In the summer, it can be 40-50 degrees warmer, so it can produce quite hot water then.

The things get calcium deposits in them too, which restricts their ability to raise the temperature. It might just need a good cleaning. You'd have to refer to the manual on how to do that. It could be it is fine and doing the best it can.

Tankless systems aren't for everyone, everywhere. You may need to learn to live with their limitations. Some can support a second one in series to raise the temperature more, or yours could just be undersized.

Use the search function and you'll get lots of reading material as this has been discussed fairly frequently here.

Master Plumber Mark

Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls
Reaction score
indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of
Website
www.weilhammerplumbing.com
learn to live with it

the best quote of the month