T shaped drain on bathroom sink?

Users who are viewing this thread

dono

Reaction score
Hi,

I am pretty new to this stuff but I have unclogged a couple P drains in my time. I am attempting to replace my bathroom sink but I couldn't find a pipe fitting at Home Depot that looks like the following :

http://i.imgur.com/dNPvU.jpg

Everything I saw at home depot was just straight through. I think this is just overflow in case the adjacent guest bathroom on the other side of the wall gets clogged or something.

Anyway, any opinions or guidance would help? Do I need to go to a plumbing supply house for this. Home Depot is really the only "big" place within 20 miles of me.

Thanks!
--Don

JohnjH2o1

Plumbing Contractor for 49 years
Reaction score
The fitting is called a dishwasher tee. Can't see were the hose is coming from.

John

dono

Reaction score
Thanks.

How weird. No dishwasher in my bathroom :D . I would have to make measurements for sure, but the only thing I can figure is that it also goes to the adjacent bathroom in case that drain were blocked?

dono

Reaction score
Yep I went to a more informed plumbing supply only place that knew more than home depot, showed them my disassembled plumbing and the guy immediately identified it as AC overflow, and helped me find it. Home depot and lowes didn't seem to have the 5/8" size that I needed. I'm going back to the new place when I get to replacing my second sink and a couple of other odds and ends, they really seem to know what they're talking about.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
The picture is huge and limited in scope, but they make a chrome branch tee that screws into the sink fitting, and replaces the metal part above your tee fitting, IF the hose is high enough in the wall to drain into it. The hose is usually 3/4" i.d.

dono

Reaction score