Steam Shower install

Users who are viewing this thread

NevadaSmith

Reaction score
Website
www.buildzoom.com
Hi, I am new to posting here, but not new to searching or learning a lot from this website over the years. I am a General Contractor living in the Sierra mountains of California and have no employees other than myself. I usually dont sub much out other than Electrical and do anything from building custom cabinets to crawling under muddy houses.
I have a client that I remodeled most of their home and wants a steam shower in a space that is now a tub, 5 ft wide. They have looked at a complete unit that would be delivered and then I put it together and install it. The space is tight as the complete unit is 59'' wide and there is no way to get to the back side without cutting holes into an adjacent wall which is another shower. I could build the shower using Schluter systems which I have used before, but am worried that I wont be able to get it sealed good enough and will get a lot of water/steam penetration, plus they dont want tile
. My question is has anyone installed one of these units and if they did what did the county require as to being able to have access to the compressor. This has the compressor mounted on the back of one of the panels, so once its installed if there are any issues with it, the wall would have to be cut into. It seems there are a lot of cons to this and I have a feeling that something will fail down the road as the installation instructions on the unit are terrible and from a foreign country.
I will try to add a photo of the space it will go into and also the unit itself. Thanks again and sorry for the lengthy message.

Link to steam shower
http://steamshowers4less.com/compon...eam-showers/ws-112-s6-44-detail.html?Itemid=0

Attachments

• steam shower.jpg
    steam shower.jpg
    32.6 KB · Views: 226

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score