Sink drain tail too close to stub in wall

Discussion in 'Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & ' started by bspachman, Feb 4, 2010.

1. bspachman

bspachman New Member

Hi all!

As you can see from my post count, I'm a relative novice around here--although I've been lurking and searching for a while. I'm attempting some minor repairs on a second floor bathroom and have successfully replaced the flush and fill valves on the toilet, installed new supply lines and shut off valves for the toilet and sink, but have stumbled on replacing the sink's p-trap.

All of my new p-trap parts are chromed brass, and although I've trimmed the output of the trap as short as it can go, I still have an issue where the output side of the J bend will not connect to the drain stub coming from the wall.

It looks like the stub is actually copper, and I'm working with 1 1/4 parts and pieces (everything fits properly to the stub and the sink tail).

Pictures are attached--I'd welcome any advice or thoughts on how to best proceed...

Thanks!
    brad

2nd Floor - Side.jpg 2nd Floor Sink Drain Stub.jpg 2nd Floor New P-Trap.jpg 2nd Floor - P-trap from side.jpg
  2. cacher_chick

cacher_chick Test, Don't Guess!

The drain stub-out and trap adapter should not be sticking out of the wall that far. Did you change the sink or was the old trap just different? If you want to use that trap either the drain pipe will need to move back a little in the wall or the trap adapter will need to be removed and a new one installed closer to the wall.

[​IMG]
  3. jc60618

jc60618 DIY Junior Member