Schluter Profiles

Users who are viewing this thread

DougB

Reaction score
I found it very difficult to find any info about how to install the Schluter profiles. Like how do you hold them in place, etc.

The reason to use 'some' Schluter is that if the tile has bull nose - I've found it to be 3" wide - looks like shit around a door or a corner. I used the bullnose around shower niches, but on the corners (3 or them) the Schluter really looks superior - IMO.

Well here's what I did. First I wanna tell you that I did not attend any stinkinnng 3 day workshop - I'm an engineer (electrical) so why would I need any stinkinnng Schluter workshop. Electricity, tile, just about the same...

Two methods: I've used hot gule - seems to hold it in place. Second was to use small pieces of plywood - and clamped it in place - this method works really nice. The main thing is that you want one of corners set - so don't do it until the next day!

Schluter.jpg

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
What you did should work, but except where you are going to be walking on the profile (i.e., on a floor as say an expansion joint or a transition), they said in the class it works out better to just place the profile there dry (no thinset underneath it), spread thinset over it while trying to key it into the holes, then set your tile. The profile will stay there after the first tile is up, and as you add more, you can still adjust it slightly to get it perfect. On those that have a hollow edge, it adds strength if you fill it with thinset. It makes it less likely to dent if it gets hit hard. I've put up a few using that technique in the workshops, and it seemed to work fine, and that's how they demonstrated it prior to turning us loose to practice and reinforce what we'd been shown.