Replacing caulk around shower floor

Users who are viewing this thread

Todd Mobley

Reaction score
Hello there,

First post here, hoping someone can shed a little light on this seemingly small project that may now be much bigger than anticipated.

We moved into this house last July, and a project I had been putting off for a few months; replacing the moldy caulk around the shower floor. It was only moldy in certain spots, not all the way around. After the last cleaning, I could tell the caulk was starting to become loose in the moldy spots, so I knew the time for replacing was upon us. After pulling all of the old caulk off, cleaning and drying the seems with a hairdryer, I noticed that on the seem by the shower door, that water would spray up (from beneath the seem) when I would hold the hairdryer close. Upon further inspection, it took me about 2 hours and a towel to soak up all of that water out of there. To the point where it doesn't spray up any more. I have let the shower dry out for two days now, but if I step hard on the corner (shown below), I can still hear moisture under there. There are absolutely no signs of water damage on the ceiling below the shower, or on the opposite walls. I've pressed hard around the entire shower and this one corner seems to be the only place where I can actually still hear the moisture underneath. I checked the drain, and it is completely sealed. So, I don't th

Common sense would tell me that I shouldn't seal the shower seem if there is moisture behind the seam. Should I just leave the shower to dry until there is no sound of moisture in that spot? Water could have potentially been seeping through the old caulk for months, which would mean all of that moisture is now rotting the wall and subfloor below. But again, if it had been happening for months, I would surely see SOME kind of water stains on the outer wall, or the ceiling below wouldn't I?

Any tips would be appreciated!

Todd

IMG_4239.JPG

IMG_4240.JPG

hj