Newbie here....Want more water from shower head

Users who are viewing this thread

Sunseteco

Reaction score
Hello to everyone. I am new to the forum. I have been reading on this forum for a while on several obstacles I have encountered in my house, and have conquered most of them, haha. But now I have run into a problem and I am looking for some advice and know how. My house has a shallow well and has a very high iron content. I have 3 water filters in my system (2 before the softener and 1 after the softener). Water pressure is ok but has always struggled in our master bathroom, that has a neo angle shower only. I have been reading up on certain things and I have come to an idea....Is it possible or maybe even logical to buy and install a tub filler valve system and use it for a shower only setup. I have tried finding additional info on this but it just keeps eluding me. I have a found a setup that will flow up to 17 gpm. Now I know my pressure in the house is no where near that but I have decent pressure at other faucets so I am sure this idea would be beneficial. I am not concerned about water usage because I do not take long showers. The setup I currently have is a 1 handle from price Pfister and I have replaced the balance valve several times since I bought my house. I know the internals of the valve and balance valve are clean and free of debris so, this setup just does not produce the pressure I want for a shower. So, what do ya think? Possible to do, or a bad idea? Thanks to all.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
Before you cut into the wall replacing the valve body, run a couple of flow tests. First measure the GPM with the shower head on the arm and then again with the head off of the arm. That should show what GPM the valve body is capable of.