Geotherm open loop system water pressure problems

Users who are viewing this thread

Ldameron

Reaction score
Hello all I am a newbie here:
I have learned a great deal of knowledge here and thanks to all.
My question?
I have an open loop system, 2 units, 3 ton upstairs, 5 ton down, cycle stop valve, when both systems are running I don't have enought water pressure to take showers upstairs, just a trickle.
Could I install a small pump/tank in the line to give more pressure?
How much water pressure does a deep well pump produce?

I forget to mention that I have a 28 gpm well pump.
The geo uses about 20 to 24 gpm
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Leonard

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
If you have a 28 GPM pump and the Geo is using a max of 24 GPM, you should still have 4 GPM left for the shower. We need some more info on the well and pump. Do you know the depth of the well, water level, or the model number of the pump?

Ldameron

Reaction score
Do not for sure but I think it is 280 feet deep, 1hp pump in well do not know water level
I hope this helps

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
A 1 HP, 25 GPM pump can only produce 24 GPM from 130' with no pressure. Even without knowing the water level in the well, I am sure you are running out of pump. A large pump in the well will produce more water and pressure, but will increase the pumping cost for the Geo system. You might consider a two pump system. Let the Geo be fed by the submersible pump at low pressure, and add a booster pump system to boost the pressure to the house.

Last edited by a moderator:

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
I forgot to memtion I have an 80 gal gav tank that gets air from the well when the pump stops. How does that change the drawing?
Thanks