Fleck 5000 sxt pro flow questions

Users who are viewing this thread

CRB

Reaction score
Folks,

I understand ion exchange chemistry but I'm very new to water softeners. I have purchased and installed a Fleck 5000 sxt. I preferred it to the more popular 5600 due to the full 1" porting that should give lower pressure drop on my supply to the house. I have 32,000 gr set up as recommended in the manual and my water output has tested to less than 1 gr/gal so it looks to be working OK. My concern is there seems to be very little water in the brine tank. It's only a few inches above the grid. Is this enough? When I ran it through a regen cycle the water in the brine tank is gone in about 14 min but the brine cycle appears to be 60 min. Can somebody please tell me how the regen cycle works and what my settings should be for the programmable parameters. The instructions I received were very vague. Brine Fill was set for 12 and Capacity was set at 24 even though the unit I purchased (and sticker on the unit) was 32000.

All help to this ultra-newbie to water softening person is very much appreciated.

Chris

Reach4

Reaction score
The brine is sucked in during the brine/slow rinse cycle. It is the same cycle from the point of view of the controller, but the brine gets sucked up until the checkvalve in the tank closes off the path. The rest of the time in the cycle is called the slow rinse, which rinses the salt off of the resin. Having the combined cycle be about 4 times as long as the time for the brine to be sucked up is good and what you usually design for.

You have 1 cuft of resin. For salt efficiency, you are probably set to provide 8 pounds of salt during each regen. To get about 32000 grains instead of 24000, you would need to provide 16 pounds of salt each regen instead of 8. Why label it as "32000"? It is a convention that has some basis in that the resin could do that if you used a lot more salt.