DWV Water Test Level Keeps Dropping But No Leaks

Users who are viewing this thread

MightyKC

Reaction score
A bit frustrated and hoping someone here can reassure me or help me find a way to pass a plumbing DWV rough-in inspection. City of Charleston, SC. They only allow a water test. No air or vacuum test allowed. I've never done a water test before, but understand the basics of how it's done.

Project Details - Adding a full bathroom in the front room over the garage. The rest of the house is one story on an 18" high crawl space. The closest 3" drain line was over halfway across the house, where the two existing bathrooms lead to the sewer lateral. There was a 2" which drained the laundry and kitchen which tied into that 3". So I cut out the 2", picked up the laundry and kitchen with my new 3" and ran it halfway across the house to the 3" coming the from other two bathrooms. Everything worked out great with the installation. The problem is the testing. I have 4 test tees under the house, to block off the other pipes leading into the new ones - laundry, kitchen, from other bathrooms, and the sewer lateral. Filling the system from the new vent pipe cut below the roof line.