Driven well troubles 60ft deep

Users who are viewing this thread

Scolabird

Reaction score
Ok ladies and gents I'm a newbie to forums and wells in general. A year ago I drove a well here in Fountain,Fl a half hour north of Panama City in mostly sandy soil and some hardpans. I used a tractor some pulleys and a 250 pound weight to drive the pipe downward. I used galvanized 1 1/4 pipe as my well shaft and over a period of 2 months with a lot of start and stopping, a lot of beers, and more aches/pains and profanities that I'd care to confess to, we got through I believe our fourth hard pan and upon adding water down the pipe we could no longer fill the pipe up! Bingo! 60 foot deep and pitcher pump hookup attempt number 45 finally yielded some muddy brown water out the ground(with a bit of sulfur smell) We hooked up a hand me down 3/4 HP shallow well pump and it ran for 3 hours until my yard became a mud pit and the water got clear and cold!!! I started and stopped the pump numerous times to ensure she wouldn't run dry or lose prime and it worked everytime... A week later, we got back home and No Water. I unplugged and plugged well to power and it would kick on and pump my primer water that I added but then run dry. I fast realized I needed a check valve. I installed one topside and continued to have troubles with losing prime. I finally decided to add a foot valve and due to using inch and a quarter pipe as that's all I had for a well casing I had to shrink down to a 3/4 drop pipe(PVC) inside the casing and a Chinese made 1/2 inch foot valve (no others would fit due to my tiny casing pipe). It was a struggle to get 3/4 PVC drop pipe and foot valve all the way down well shaft and it took some twisting and tapping to get her all the way to bottom. I pulled the drop pipe up and down to prime foot valve until clear smelly sulfur water burst from the pipe. I then plumbed the drop pipe to my pump and I have had water for a year, through Florida's summer droughts and the rec