Bath fan exhaust venting

Users who are viewing this thread

monkeyboy

Reaction score
I would like verification that the following can be done -
I have a master bathroom with separate toilet / shower / open areas. The toilet area has a bath fan that vents to the side of my house (stucco). The run is @15'-20'. The tiled shower area only has a light - no exhaust venting, therefore we get frequent mildew buildup in the shower. (we do have a ceiling fan in the master bath, but that does not help much).

I'd like to install a bath light/fan kit in the shower, replacing the light - but I'd prefer not to cut another vent into my siding. I was hoping that I could use some kind of 'T' into the existing toilet fan ducting that is currently vented to the side of my house. This way, each could operate independently and I would not have to cut an additional vent into my siding.

Can this be done with no concerns? Do I need to be concerned about duct sizes (the shower fan would likely need to be sized much bigger than the toilet fan). What about backdrafting? Any special parts I may need?

thanks

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
Use a wye instead of a tee to reduce backdraft. Also, most fans have an integral backdraft damper. If you have a 4" duct on the toilet fan, that is adquate for even a very large CFM bath fan.

Fans and lights directly over a tub or shower are required to be UL listed for that specific application. This may limit your choices.

In any event, such a fan must be connected to a GFCI protected circuit.

Last edited:

LonnythePlumber

Plumber, Contractor, Attorney
Reaction score
Larger exhaust fan

If you have mildew then it sounds like you need a larger fan to move more CFM or let it run longer. I have not seen a ceiling fan in a bathroom. You must have a very large room.

monkeyboy

Reaction score
possible problem...3" and 4" ducting