Search results

1. JohnyChevyEG

Toilet is not flushing correctly.

I added a new floor to my kids bathroom, and after putting the toilet back on with a new wax ring, solids will not flush. I tried a couple different rings, and the same situation is happening. The floor was raised about 1/2 to 3/4 inch, so I got one of those extender rings because they claim...
  2. JohnyChevyEG

Painting trim, baseboards, and kitchen cabinets.

Team, I am about to take on the task of painting all the trim, and kitchen cabinets in my house. Currently the trim is a stain, with a shiny surface coat of something, i'm not 100 percent sure, i'm not a painter expert. The kitchen cabinets are the same I believe. Whats the best way to go...
  3. JohnyChevyEG

New question about hot water heater!!! Sorry for all the questions!

Folks, I have a question about the hot water heater hookups. I have one that is copper to the water heater, and that is the hot water, and the cold supply pipe ends up in a threaded connection where a fiber type hose is going to the cold water. Should I take that out and make it a copper...
  4. JohnyChevyEG

Soldering copper pipe, and misc.

I have pretty good experience soldering electrical devices, so I didn't think soldering copper would be too much different. After having tried it today, I dont know if I'm doing it right. All the internet research states to apply flame to the fitting, and remove before applying solder. I...
  5. JohnyChevyEG

copper pipe inside, or outside vapor barrier?

I have cut out a section of the existing basement wall, and there is a sheet of plastic between the drywall, and the studs. One of the drain pipes is on the outside of this sheet between the concrete wall, and the sheet. Can I put my copper pipe there? What about the insulation that is there...
  6. JohnyChevyEG

Putting a false floor over basement concrete