Recent content by Why did I try this?

1. Why did I try this?

Mudding to/into tub lip for surround???

Hi, They installed cement board Durock but are using drywall mud on the seams. A 5 piece plastic shower surround will be glued on. No tile if that makes a difference.
  2. Why did I try this?

Mudding to/into tub lip for surround???

Hi, I am having a contractor install my tub and surround. Ok, so he told his mud guy to mud right to/into the lip of the tub, wtf !!? I never heard of such a thing. He did say that they would caulk before and after the surround goes on. With the cement board & lip gap full of mud I don't see...
  3. Why did I try this?

Trimming face of cast iron tub

Thats what I was thinking and I have never done this before. Unfortunately I got the tub installed on top of the underlayment:mad: Thank you
  4. Why did I try this?

Trimming face of cast iron tub

Hello, I have a Villager cast iron tub going in. My old cast tub had tile up to it, so the "lip" was covered. This tub technically doesn't have a lip but the enamel isn't even either. Anyway, I have a vinyl floor going in with the new tub and am very concerned about having a cheap line of...
  5. Why did I try this?

2 guys for a 1 man job

Hi, I had a zone control valve repair, a couple purge valves put in and one other short pipe splice. One guy showed up and was working quickly and then about 45 min. later another guy came by and has been standing around with his thumb up his a**. The 2nd guy has been here for nearly 2...
  6. Why did I try this?

End switch replacement?

Erie zone valve. Turns out the valve was sticky and the switch works fine.
  7. Why did I try this?

Installing a Kohler Villager Cast Iron Tub

Do the drains have to be installed prior to dropping the tub in place? I have an opening to the drain pipe from underneath but it is small and covered with a bunch of other pipes. Thank you
  8. Why did I try this?

End switch replacement?