Wiring Help - Aprilaire 400

Users who are viewing this thread

Michigan Ray

Reaction score
Hi,
Newbie here....Wow what a great forum! I have a cabin that I'm currently remodeling. I'm putting in knotty pine ceilings and hardwood flooring. The cabin is a small two story with a total of 1,500 square feet. Current humidity, a terrible 20%. I'm interested in purchasing the Aprilaire 400A with the digital h'stat. Being a drainless humidifier it would work perfect in my situation due to not wasting gallons of water and having a crawl space.
I have over 30 years of experiance in building, plumbing and residential wiring, but the wiring of a humidifier to a furnace & h'stat is totally new for me. As for installation, the furnace is a downflow design on the main floor with all the main supply/trunk line T'd off in the crawl space. I'm planning on mounting the humidifier right below the furnace (center of the T supply/trunk line). The main return duct is directly over the furnace 14 x 20" x 4' 6" high with the furnace filter laying horizontal right in the middle (2' 3"). I plan on installing the 6" bypass duct in the lower section of the main return. This places the 6" bypass duct between the furnace filter and the furnace. I would rather have the h'stat mounted on a wall, but it appears that it needs to go above the bypass duct by approx. 6". I'd like to add, the furnace is in a seperate 4 x 10' closet shared with a washer & drier. One thing that I will definately install will be a 1/4" shutoff valve instead of a saddle valve.