Trying to drain my evacuation pipe on softener

Users who are viewing this thread

Royerm

Reaction score
Hi Folks....

I've had a few occasion where my drain pipe that is ejecting my water
outside has frozen. It happens exactly where the outside and the inside meets.
The outside has a good slope so no problem, but I suspect that my inside keeps
water as I'm going up from the softener and that's what creating the freezing.

So, I was thinking of possibly an automatic method to drain the pipe once my
softener is done..

Any idea????? Cheers

Reach4

Reaction score
Softener_drain_to_freeze.png
One way would be to make the pipe leading to the outside more sloped. Bigger diameter would help, but you might even consider a/another vacuum breaker mounted high on the drain line. Another thing that comes to mind is a tee to a higher hose that dumps into a drain only if the outside gets blocked. That could also serve as a source of air to break the vacuum.

Just an idea. I am not a pro. My softener goes into a floor drain which goes to the septic tank.

Last edited:

Royerm

Reaction score
View attachment 32699 One way would be to make the pipe leading to the outside more sloped. Bigger diameter would help, but you might even consider a/another vacuum breaker mounted high on the drain line. Another thing that comes to mind is a tee to a higher hose that dumps into a drain only if the outside gets blocked. That could also serve as a source of air to break the vacuum.

Just an idea. I am not a pro. My softener goes into a floor drain which goes to the septic tank.

My situation is that i'm going at the high loop from softener in your example, plenty of slope going out
but freezing at that high loop position....

I have a floor drain but i'm trying to stay away from pumping the regen in the septic tank...Great drawing by the way.
Thx.

Bannerman

Reaction score