TrapGuard feedback

Users who are viewing this thread

Spaceman Spiff

Architect
Reaction score
These have been out for a few years now and i've had them installed in different buildings w/o any problems reported, but I wanted to see what the feedback was from an audience larger than one...;)

http://www.trapguard.com/

We're continually having problems with trap primers failing because of sediment in the primer, so much that I have my mechanical engineers use trapguard or design the primer loop so that it can be replaced easily a number of times. (Tee up to ball valve, 12" pipe, 90 horiz to primer, 90 down to slab... this way you can cut off the 90's and replace it 10-12 times before you need a pair of couplers in the mix)

I'm an architect (100% commercial, 0% resi) and want to do whats best for my clients, so any feedback on these, positive or negative, is appreciated. Thanks!!!

Geniescience

Homeowner
Reaction score
been nixed many times before

i looked into this a lot two years ago, and at that time the web site promoted them as an alternative to a P trap. Today the claim made is as an alternative to a trap primer, from what i see after a quick visit.

All the Master Plumbers I spoke to back then nixed the idea. They all said they knew of the concept and that it had been studied and not approved and that it was not going to go in under their supervision and insurance responsibility. There was no wiggle room. Nobody budged.

I was legally bound to hire a Master Plumber for a certain portion of my residential remodeling, since I live in a high-rise condo building and my P traps are underneath my concrete slab floor, in my neighbor's ceiling downstairs. I did put new P traps in -- and gave my neighbor a nice gift to thank him for putting up with concrete dust, plaster dust, paint fumes, and risk, in his condo, just to let me have a new bathroom.