Temporary fix of a very small leak in a kitchen sink drain pipe attached to the jbend

Users who are viewing this thread

Carlegeo

Reaction score
I'm a complete amateur but want to try to see if a temporary fix would help
for a small, I guess pinhole or a bit larger leak in drain pipe under kitchen
sink that is attached to the jbend - this pipe screws into a larger one
and then that larger one goes behind the wall.
(its a metal, not a plastic one)

I don't want to do anything with the first temporary fix that might not
allow a handyman to try something else if my fix does not work.

I bought the rescue tape (silicone tape), the plumbing repair clamps
(with the rubber inside) and various epoxies or glues that are supposed
to work with this situation.

1. Should I try the rescue tape first since if it does not work, the clamp
with the rubber might still go over that ?

2. Might the clamp however, exert too much pressure on this pipe that since its
old might cause it to crumble or break in other places ?

3. Am guessing that once the epoxy or glue is over the hole, then using the clamp
or tape would not be effective since it would not be able to be against a flush surface to compress ?

4. And don't know if this is true, but read that since there is not as much water
pressure in the drain pipe as in the inlet pipes, that maybe one of these temporary
fixes might work ?

Yes, I know the proper way probably is to replace the pipe but on a budget
and that the non jbend end of the pipe screws into the larger pipe and could
be more complex to get off and which would be way outside my ability.

Thanks for suggestions or ideas.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score