still need reline in my chimney?

Discussion in 'HVAC Heating & Cooling' started by lmei007, Nov 18, 2007.

1. lmei007

lmei007 Member

I am thinking install an insert pellet stove. The saleman keepes telling me I need reline installation (cost extra $1000). I checked my chimney, I think it is in excellent condition with tile lining. Please see the photos named Chimney 1 and Chimney 2 here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/lmei007/?saved=1

What is your opinions? I am new to those kind of things. I need your advice.
    thanks
  2. jimbo

jimbo Plumber

You have to get the manufacturer's spec sheet for the stove. It is quite possible that they specify a stainless steel chimney. Older masonry chimneys may not draw properly on a high efficiency appliance, and the moisture content of the exhause gas may be a problem.
  3. lmei007

lmei007 Member

the stove spec do have three different options:
    A. Direct connect with outside air;
    B. Direct connect without outside air;
    C. Full reline with outside air;

My understanding is if the chimney condition is not good, use option C, otherwise option A and B can be used.

Here is the spec: http://content.hearthnhome.com/downloads/installManuals/man_1200i.pdf

page 14 and 15 specified the installaton.

I think my chimney condition is good, am I right?

thanks
  4. brownizs

brownizs In the Trades

Ask yourself this question "Would it be worth it to risk my families life & health to not reline, or go ahead and spend the cost for the Flue liner." Personally, if it was up to me, I would opt for the Flue relining, due to your flue may not be able to handle the heat from the Pellet stove.
  5. lmei007

lmei007 Member

thank you, sir. I will do it.
  6. D.Smith

D.Smith New Member

You can always get a 2nd estimate from another company for relining.
  7. jimbo

jimbo Plumber