Sewer gas in brand new restaurant

Users who are viewing this thread

Tygon

Reaction score
We just built a brand new franchise restaurant according to national specifications and hired an experienced plumber for the job. Not everything works too well (the hand washing sinks drain very slowly), but the main problem is that we have a huge amount of sewer gas in the revents and seeping into the bathrooms. This problem is only on the bathroom lines, since the sink lines go to a grease trap which effectively keeps sewer gas out of that system.

I'm also a licensed contractor with a lot of experience with plumbing. I have looked everything over, including the revents and made sure that they are all working properly. I have been keeping the numerous floor drain p-traps filled with bleached water and have caulked around the toilets. I've done everything I can think of, and still the bathrooms smell of sewer gas, even in the morning. The gas has to be coming from the city sewer, since we don't have any reservoir that would support decomposition.

I asked the plumbing contractor about installing some kind of p-trap to keep the gasses from the city sewer lines from entering our system, and she said nobody ever does such a thing and that it is impossible for city sewer gas to get into our lines, since the city sewage is flowing.

That doesn't make sense to me. I think the gasses from the city system are coming up and overwhelming our vent system. Am I wrong?

Plumber1

Plumber
Reaction score
From where I come from, sewer lines used to be trapped where the sewer left the building, but it's been outlawed for a long time.

Could there be negative air pressure inside the building and drawing air from the sewer system?

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score